doing what's possible, carefully .. take a look at our updates!

Besuch Historischer Stätten

Besuch Historischer Stätten

Historische Orte schaffen Verbindungen zu unserem Erbe, die uns helfen, unsere Vergangenheit zu verstehen, unsere Triumphe zu würdigen und aus unseren Fehlern zu lernen.  Historische Orte tragen dazu bei, unsere Gemeinschaften durch den Aufbau eines starken Identitätsgefühls zu definieren und zu unterscheiden, und werden von der lokalen Bevölkerung geschätzt. Als Tourist solltest du dir diese magischen Orte und die faszinierenden Geschichten, die sie umgeben, nicht entgehen lassen!

 

Orte für den Besuch historischer Stätten

Botanischer Garten

Der Besuch eines Botanischen Gartens ist eine entspannende Aktivität, bei der du die Schönheit der Natur bewundern kannst. Du wirst auch etwas über die Naturgeschichte des Landes erfahren. Du wirst daneben eine große Sammlung von Pflanzen und Bäumen mit ihren Blüten, Samen und Früchten sehen, während du auf den angelegten Wegen friedlich spazieren gehst.

Standorte für Botanische Gärten

Casco-Viejo-Wanderung

Casco-Viejo-Wanderung

Panama City’s Casco Viejo ist ein historischer Stadtteil mit von Herrenhäusern gesäumten Gassen, die elegante Kolonialplätze und historische Gebäude miteinander verbinden. Er befindet sich gerade mitten in einem Umbauprozess, welcher ihm seinen früheren Glanz wieder vollständig zurückgeben wird.  Bei einem Spaziergang durch die gepflasterten Straßen wirst du in die Vergangenheit zurückversetzt. Dein Reiseführer wird dir helfen, sich vorzustellen, wie die Stadt war, bevor der Panamakanal sie für die Welt öffnete!

Fitnessstudios zum trainieren

Fitnessstudios zum trainieren

Das Training hat viele Vorteile, nicht nur physische, sondern auch einige, die mit der Verbesserung des Lernens zusammenhängen. Es steigert die Gehirnleistung (es erhöht den Gehalt an hirnabgeleiteten Proteinen im Körper, von denen angenommen wird, dass sie bei der Entscheidungsfindung, beim höheren Denken und Lernen helfen). Es schärft auch das Gedächtnis. Mit der Verfügbarkeit von Fitnessstudios in der Nähe kannst du deine Trainingsroutine fortsetzen, während du an unseren Schulen Spanisch lernst!

Freitagabend Barbecue

Freitagabend Barbecue

An allen Schulen organisieren wir jeden Freitag ein Potluck-Grillfest, bei dem die Schule Getränke für alle Gäste bereitstellt und alle Teilnehmer etwas zu essen mitbringen.  Bei diesen Barbecues werden oft verschiedene internationale Gerichte verkostet. Es ist eine schöne Art, eine Woche des Spanischlernens zu beenden, miteinander ins Gespräch zu kommen und zu feiern!

Gerätetauchen

Beim Tauchen siehst du ein Fenster zu einer faszinierenden Welt, die nur von wenigen gesehen wird.  Die Unterwasserwelt ist sehr friedlich und ruhig, so dass du deinen Geist entleeren und dich einfach nur beeindrucken lassen kannst. Tauchen ist kein Extremsport, und die einzigen Fähigkeiten, die du benötigst sind schwimmen und atmen!  Aufgrund der Einzigartigkeit dieses Sports ist für die Teilnahme ein Spezialkurs erforderlich.

Heiße Quellen

Heiße Quellen

Heiße Quellen entstehen von Natur aus, wenn Grundwasser durch geothermische Kräfte erwärmt und an die Oberfläche gebracht wird, wobei es typischerweise mit kühlem Oberflächenwasser verdünnt wird. Das größte Vergnügen ist jedoch nicht der visuelle Aspekt der Quelle, sondern das Eintauchen in das Wasser wegen seiner therapeutischen Kräfte, ganz zu schweigen davon, dass es sich wirklich gut anfühlt und verjüngt!

Kaffee-Tour

Die Geschichte des grano de oro (goldene Bohne) in Mittelamerika begann im 18. Jahrhundert und dauert bis heute an. Kaffee hat in der Entwicklung Costa Ricas eine zentrale Rolle gespielt. Er hat die sozialen, kulturellen und politischen Institutionen geprägt und ist nach wie vor einer der wichtigsten Agrarexporte des Landes. In Panama gibt es weniger Gebiete, die für den Kaffeeanbau geeignet sind. In der Gegend von Boquete (Panama) werden jedoch Geisha-Bohnen, eine der weltbesten Kaffeebohnen, angebaut und sind eine Erkundung wert!

Kajakfahren auf Fluss und Meer

Kajakfahren auf Fluss und Meer

Kajakfahren auf Flüssen und Ozeanen ist für alle, die nach einer Gelegenheit suchen, die Natur zu genießen! Kajakfahren macht nicht nur Spaß, ist einfach und angenehm, sondern auch ein großartiges, wenig belastendes Training. Du kannst es mit einem Strandbesuch, Angeln, Camping, Schnorcheln oder einem Picknick am Fluss oder am Strand kombinieren.

 

Kakao- & Schokoladen-Tour

Kakao- & Schokoladen-Tour

„Theobroma cacao“, auch Kakaobaum genannt, ist ein kleiner Baum, der in den tiefen tropischen Regionen von Mittel- und Südamerika beheimatet ist. Seine Samen, die Kakaobohnen, werden zur Herstellung von Kakaomasse, Kakaopulver und Schokolade verwendet. Kakao wird zwar nicht mehr wie früher als Zahlungsmittel verwendet, doch spielt er heute in vielen Kulturen auf der ganzen Welt eine zentrale Rolle. Viele Menschen glauben, dass Schokolade gut für ein glückliches und gesundes Leben ist, und die weltweite Kakaoproduktion steigt jedes Jahr um 2 Prozent!

Standorte für Kakao- & Schokoladen-Touren

Klettern an der Wand

Sportarten, die mit ein wenig Angst oder Aufregung verbunden sind, führen dazu, dass dein Körper Endorphine, Dopamin und andere Neurotransmitter freisetzt, die stärker sind als viele Drogen! Klettern ist sowohl eine körperliche als auch eine geistige Herausforderung. Der Fels ist wie ein Puzzle, das man durch Körperbewegungen und verschiedene Techniken löst, um den Gipfel zu erreichen. Versuche es und sei bereit, dich ein Leben lang auf das Klettern einzulassen!

Lateinamerikanischer Tanzkurs

Sobald du anfängst zu tanzen, merkst du, was du vermisst hast. Du wirst dich daran erinnern, dass du einen Körper hast, Spaß hast und interessante Leute treffen kannst. Das Hormon Dopamin wird freigesetzt und aktiviert die Lernzentren deines Gehirns. Es wird viel davon benötigt, um Spanisch zu lernen! Du kannst Salsa, Merengue, Bachata, Cha-Cha-Cha und Reggaeton lernen.

Lokaler Kochkurs

Lokaler Kochkurs

Was ist eine bessere Art, Spanisch zu lernen, als alles über das Essen, den Geschmack und die Zubereitung schmackhafter lokaler Gerichte zu lernen? Kombinieren wir das Klassenzimmer mit der Küche und lernen wir nicht nur spanische Wörter für die Zutaten und Befehle wie ¡mezcla!, sondern bereiten wir auch gallo pinto, arroz con pollo oder flambierte Bananen zu und sorgen dafür, dass du in die kulinarische Kultur Costa Ricas oder Panamas eintauchst und leckeres Essen genießen kannst!

Mountainbike-Tour

Mountainbiking hält dich fit, lässt dich frische Luft atmen, bringt dich an neue Orte und lässt dich eins werden mit der Natur. Auch wenn viele Straßen vielleicht etwas steiler sind, als du es gewohnt bist, wirst du überrascht sein, wie viele Wege wir dir anbieten, die du problemlos bewältigen kannst!

Museen & Forschungsinstitute

In Costa Rica und Panama wird in den Bereichen tropische Landwirtschaft, Biodiversität und Naturschutz viel geforscht, so dass du in den richtigen Ländern bist, um dich über diese Themen zu informieren. Darüber hinaus gibt es in Panama City eine reichhaltige Auswahl an Museen, in denen du etwas über den Panamakanal und die afro-antilische Kultur erfahren kannst. Das Gold- und das Jademuseum gehören zu den zahlreichen Museen, die in San Jose, nur einen Tagesausflug von Turrialba entfernt, zu finden sind.

Rafting

Wildwasser-Rafting oder einfach Rafting, ist eine beliebte Outdoor-Aktivität, bei der man mit einem Schlauchboot einen Fluss hinunterfährt. Diese Sportart ist abenteuerlich, aber nicht gefährlich, wenn du unter der Aufsicht eines erfahrenen Führers stehst. Du lernst den Gebrauch der Sicherheitsausrüstung und die verschiedenen Fertigkeiten und Techniken, die du benötigst, um das Floß richtig zu steuern und die Fahrt zu genießen. Rafting ist eine lustige und aufregende Aktivität, die du nur an Orten mit Abstufungen ausüben können, daher sind Costa Rica & Panama ideale Orte, um den Nervenkitzel des Flusses zu erleben!

Reiten

In der Vergangenheit war das Reiten die einzige Art und Weise, wie die Menschen durch die Landschaft reisten. Es ist eine ganz besondere Aktivität, denn es ist nicht nur angenehm, lustig und entspannend, sondern man bekommt auch einen hautnahen Blick auf die wunderschöne Natur. Während des Reitens kannst du eine Fülle von Flora und Fauna genießen.  Während einer mehrstündigen Reise wirst du eine Beziehung zu deinem Pferd aufbauen und dich mit der Natur verbunden fühlen!

Reservat für Einheimische

Indigenous people are those with the earliest historical connection to the places they inhabit. Often they are isolated from modern civilization, which has both positive and negative implications. Access to modern health care and education is limited, but their culture and way of life is most often pristinely intact. Visiting an indigenous community can be among the most eye-opening experiences you, as a traveller, can have.

Rettungszentrum für Wildtiere

Rettungszentrum für Wildtiere

Ein Wildtier-Rettungszentrum ist der Rettung und Rehabilitation von Wildtieren gewidmet. Einige Wildtiere werden vom Menschen aus ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum herausgenommen, um sie als Haustiere zu halten oder mit der Absicht, sie zu retten. Sobald sie ausgesetzt werden, wollen Wildtier-Rettungszentren sie unterrichten und ihnen helfen, die natürlichen Verhaltensweisen der Wildtiere beizubehalten, damit sie wieder in ihren natürlichen Lebensraum zurückkehren können. Diese Zentren sind auch großartige Orte, an denen Menschen wilde Tiere schätzen lernen und bereit werden, sich am Naturschutz zu beteiligen.

San Blas Indigenous – Insel-Tour

San Blas Indigenous – Insel-Tour

Nach San Blas zu kommen, ist wie für ein paar Tage in eine andere Welt zu gehen! Die Guna-Indianer leben noch immer auf dieselbe Weise wie ihre Vorfahren. Sie haben ihre Comarca innerhalb Panamas, d.h. sie haben ein autonomes Territorium, das von Selbstverwaltung regiert wird. Sie sorgen dafür, dass Tourismus im grossen Stil nicht akzeptiert wird. Unberührte, von Palmen gesäumte weiße Sandstrände, türkisfarbenes Wasser, atemberaubende Sonnenuntergänge und eine herrliche Unterwasserwelt machen Lust auf einen ewigen Aufenthalt!

Schnorcheln & Deepboarding

Schnorcheln & Deepboarding

Schnorcheln ist viel einfacher als Tauchen, es ist etwas, das man ohne viel Übung machen kann, und es erfordert nur minimale Ausrüstung. Außerdem musst du kein starker Schwimmer sein, um zu sehen, was sich unter der Oberfläche befindet! Etwas Neues ist das Deepboarding. Mit Maske und Schnorchel wirst du an einem Seil hinter einem Schnellboot hergezogen, welches an einer durchsichtigen Kunststoffhalterung befestigt ist. Indem du das Brett nach oben oder nach unten kippst, gehst du weiter unter die Wasseroberfläche oder tauchst aus dem Wasser auf, um deinen nächsten Atemzug zu holen. Eine weitere Möglichkeit, die Unterwasserwelt zu genießen!

Seilrutschen im Dschungel

Seilrutschen im Dschungel

Ziplining entwickelt sich schnell zu einer der am schnellsten wachsenden und aufregendsten Abenteueraktivitäten! Sicher in einen Gurt eingeklinkt, gleitet man über frei bewegliche Rollen, die an Seilen hoch über dem Boden aufgehängt sind, von Plattform zu Plattform. Dies ist eine einzigartige und aufregende Erfahrung!

Strände besuchen

Strände besuchen

Es ist so einfach, am Strand glücklich zu sein: schöne Aussichten, das Gefühl der heißen Sonne auf der Haut, ein erfrischendes Bad, ein Nachmittag mit Freunden. Der Strand ist auch ein großartiger Ort, um wirklich den Stecker aus dem Leben zu ziehen, denn elektronische Bildschirme funktionieren in der Sonne nicht so gut! Costa Rica und Panama haben sowohl an der Pazifik- als auch an der Atlantikküste atemberaubende Strände. Einige sind ruhig und ohne Einrichtungen, andere sind etwas belebter mit kleinen Plätzen zum Trinken oder Essen.

Surfen

Surfen ist ein Wassersport mit hohem Suchtfaktor und einer der beliebtesten Boardsportarten, die je erfunden wurden. Es gibt über 20 Millionen Surfer auf der Welt, und die Zahl wächst schnell. Eine Welle zu reiten ist eine atemberaubende Erfahrung, die den Surfer dazu zwingt, die täglichen Kämpfe zu vergessen und sich wieder mit dem gegenwärtigen Moment zu verbinden. Die Verbindung mit dem Ozean und seinen Elementen, gepaart mit den mentalen, physischen und oft auch spirituellen Aspekten des Sports, bietet sich auf natürliche Weise für ein gesundes Leben an. Dies und die tugendhafte Mischung aus Salz, Sand und Sonne haben zweifellos einen positiven Einfluss auf das allgemeine Wohlbefinden des Surfers.

Vogelbeobachtungstour

Die Vogelbeobachtung bietet eine großartige Gelegenheit, sich zu bewegen, im Freien zu sein und frische Luft zu atmen. Es ist nicht nur eine sehr entspannende Aktivität, sondern bietet dir auch eine private Tier-Reality-Show, und da du dies mit einem einheimischen Führer tun wirst, erfährst du viel über den Tropenwald und seine Bewohner, nicht nur über Vögel!

Vulkan-Besuch

Vulkan-Besuch

Viele von uns leben an Orten, wo es keine Vulkane gibt. Auch wenn sie zeitweise aktiv werden und Lava herausläuft, würden wir gerne einen Vulkan sehen oder sogar auf einem spazieren gehen! Ein Vulkan ist aktiv, wenn er Lava „spuckt“, Gas freisetzt oder seismische Aktivität erzeugt. Ein Vulkan ist ruhend, wenn er lange Zeit nicht ausgebrochen ist, aber in Zukunft wieder ausbrechen könnte. Wenn ein Vulkan mehr als 10000 Jahre ruht, wird er als erloschen bezeichnet.

Wanderung

Ein gesunder Körper ist ein glücklicher Körper, und eine der besten Möglichkeiten, dies zu erreichen, ist, sich viel zu bewegen. Wandern ist eine wirtschaftliche Möglichkeit, dein Aktivitätsniveau zu steigern und gleichzeitig viele gesundheitliche Vorteile zu bieten. Wandern durch eine wunderschöne Gegend an unseren einzigartigen Standorten kann deine Nerven beruhigen und deine Stimmung heben.  Wandern mit einer Gruppe bietet eine ausgezeichnete Gelegenheit, etwas über tropische Ökosysteme zu lernen, Kontakte zu knüpfen und Ideen mit anderen auszutauschen!

Wasserfall-Tour

Wenige Dinge in der Natur sind so faszinierend wie ein Wasserfall. Das donnernde Tosen, wenn Wasser über die Klippen schwappt und das Licht, das von der Gischt glitzert, ist ein Beispiel für enorme Kraft und Energie. Costa Rica und Panama sind Länder, in denen hunderte von kaskadenartigen Wasserfällen im Regenwald und in Berggebieten zu finden sind. Alles großartige Ziele für eine Tageswanderung und ein erfrischendes Bad am Nachmittag.

Yoga

Yoga ist eine uralte Praxis, deren Ursprünge Tausende von Jahren in Indien zurückreichen. Sie soll dazu beitragen, eine positivere Lebenseinstellung und ein konzentriertes, dauerhaftes Gefühl von Gelassenheit und Frieden zu erreichen. Yoga ist ein fantastisches Workout. Es bringt dich in Kontakt mit deinem Körper, verbessert deinen Schlaf, deine Haltung sowie deine körperliche und geistige Kraft. Nun, du musst nur anfangen und selbst herausfinden, wie Yoga dein Leben verändern kann!

Zelten im River Camp

Das Zelten im „Gekui Pacuare River Camp“ ist am besten, wenn es Teil einer 2-, 3- oder 4-tägigen Rafting-Tour auf dem Pacuare ist. Es kann auch Teil einer Wanderung sein. Einmal auf dem Campingplatz angekommen, lebst du inmitten der Flora und Fauna dieses Dschungelparadieses. Du wirst auf erhöhten Plattformen schlafen, die dich in direkten Kontakt mit den Sehenswürdigkeiten und Geräuschen des tropischen Regenwaldes bringen. Abendessen bei Kerzenschein im Familienstil sind ein einzigartiges Merkmal des Aufenthalts auf unserem Campingplatz.

Zufluchtsort für Faultiere

Zufluchtsort für Faultiere

Faultiere stammen ursprünglich aus Nordamerika, sind aber heute nur noch in Mittel- und Südamerika anzutreffen. Sie hängen an Ästen, während sie sich an den Blättern laben, die andere Tiere nicht erreichen können. Das Laufen auf dem Boden fällt ihnen schwer, deshalb verbringen sie die meiste Zeit in den Bäumen mit fressen und schlafen. Die einzige Zeit, in der diese Säugetiere ihren Baum verlassen, ist, um ein Bad zu nehmen und um zu schwimmen (sie sind ausgezeichnete Schwimmer!!). Das Faultiersanktuarium ist der Rettung, der Rehabilitation und der Erforschung von Faultieren gewidmet.

Online Spanish classesCan't travel these days? Learn Spanish from home!

We offer online Spanish classes via  Skype, WhatsApp, Google Hangout and Zoom. Right now your online Spanish course can be scheduled 24/7.

  • Private and group lessons
  • With certified teachers with more than 10 years experience
  • Request your favorite teacher if you studied with us before!
  • Easy set up and payment via PayPal
Go to online Spanish classes

Activities

You learn better when at times you can relax your mind as well….” and that’s why we like to offer you a large range of activity options!

We offer activities to fit your plans; from one hour, full day to overnight excursions. Our social activities will give you opportunities to interact with your fellow travellers. The educational excursions provide occasions to learn about the specific products and historical sites that surround our locations and the adventurous excursions will give you an adrenaline rush!

Booking & prices › Call us toll free: 1-877-268 3730
  • Spanish & River Kayak
  • Spanish & Rock Climbing - Boquete Panama
  • Volunteers at the Caribe Horse Riding Club
  • Guayabo Archeological site in Turrialba
  • Chocolate Workshop
  • Visit the Smithsonian Institute in Bocas
  • Biomuseum - Panama City
  • Students hiking to the waterfall - Turrialba
  • Catamaran Tour - Islas Zapatillas
  • Bike Bocas! Spanish by the Sea
  • Surfs Up!
  • Zumba workout in Boquete!
  • Rafting Pacuare River - Costa Rica
  • River Rafting on the Pejivalle River in Turrialba, Costa Rica
  • Salsa classes in Panama City
  • Viva San Blas!
  • Snorkel & pick.nick in Bocas del Toro
  • Happy rafters in front of a creek of the Pacuare River
  • Catamaran Tour - Bocas del Toro
Group listening to tour guide in jungle setting

Bird Watching Tour

Bird watching creates a great opportunity to do some exercise, be outdoors and breathe fresh air. It is not only a very relaxing activity, it also provides you with a private animal reality show and because you will be doing this with a local guide, you will be learning lots about the tropical forest and its inhabitants, not only about birds!

Vibrant multi-colored flower

Botanical Garden

Visiting a Botanical garden is a relaxing activity that will leave you in awe of nature’s beauty.  You also will learn about the natural history of the country. You will see a large collection of plants and trees with their flowers, seeds and fruits as you have a peaceful stroll along laid out paths.

Smiling students eating their hand-made chocolate

Cacao & Chocolate Tour

“Theobroma cacao”, also called cacao tree is a small tree native to the deep tropical regions of Central and South America. Its seeds, the cacoa beans, are used to make cocoa mass, cocoa powder and chocolate. While cacao is no longer used as money, it plays a central role in cultures around the world today. Lot’s of people believe that chocolate is good for a happy and healthy life and global production of cocoa is climbing 2 percent each year!

 

Group in rustic camp in jungle

Camping at River Camp

Camping at “Gekui Pacuare River Camp” is at its best when it is part of a 2, 3 or 4 day rafting trip on the Pacuare. It can also be part of a hiking trip. Once at the campsite, you will live among the flora and fauna of this jungle paradise. You will sleep on elevated platforms that will put you in direct contact with the sights and sounds of the tropical rain forest. Candlelight family style dinners are a unique feature of your stay in our campsite.

Ruins of old arquitecture next to modern building in Panama City

Casco Viejo Walking Tour

Panama City’s Casco Viejo is a historic district of mansion-lined alleys connecting elegant colonial squares and historic buildings. It´s right now in the middle of a face-lift that will restore it completely to its former glory. Wandering along cobbled streets will take you back in time. Your guide will help you imagine what the city was like before the Panama Canal opened it up to the world!

 

Group on back of sail boat in Caribbean

Catamaran Sailing

Sailing is an invigorating activity that offers a great way to enjoy the outdoors. The brisk feel of the breeze on your face, the view of the sails billowing against the bright sky,  as well as the feeling of the gentle motions of the boat as it cleanly slices through the water, is an experience like none other! An added feature in this experience is snorkeling in the crystalline waters of the Caribbean.

Red fresh coffee beans

Coffee Tour

The story of the grano de oro (golden bean) in Central America began in the 18th century and continues to this day. Coffee has played a pivotal role in the development of Costa Rica. It has shaped social, cultural and political institutions and is still one of country’s major agricultural exports.  In Panama there are fewer areas that are favorable for coffee cultivation. However, in the area of Boquete (Panama), Geisha beans, one of the worlds best coffee beans, are cultivated and would be worth exploring!

Students night out in Panama City

Dinners & Nightlife

Dinners, parties and going to the local bars and discos are a great way to get to know your fellow students, relax and have some fun. So don’t miss the get-togethers during the week and especially on the weekends! Panama City, Bocas del Toro and Puerto Viejo offer vibrant nightlife every day of the week. In Boquete and Turrialba it is generally more centered around the weekend.

 

 

Two persons doing barbecue in party

Friday Night Barbecue

At all schools, every Friday, we organize a potluck barbecue in which the school provides some drinks for all guests and all participants bring some food to share. Various international dishes are often sampled at these barbecues. It is a nice way to finish a week of studying Spanish, connect and celebrate!

Group of zumba people in local gym

Gyms for Workout

Working out has many benefits, not only physical ones but also some related to improvement of your studies. It boosts brainpower (it increases levels of brain-derived protein in the body, believed to help with decision making, higher thinking and learning). It also sharpens memory. With the availabilty of gyms nearby you can continue your workout routine while learning Spanish at our schools!

 

Group hiking through costa rican forest

Hiking Tour

A healthy body is a happy body and one of the best ways to achieve this is to get plenty of exercise. Hiking is an economical way to increase your activity level, while offering plenty of health benefits. Hiking through a beautiful area in our unique locations can als calm your nerves and lift your spirits. Hiking with a group provides an excellent opportunity to learn about tropical ecosystems, socialize and exchange ideas with others!

Four canons of the fortress with ocean in the back

Historical Sites Visiting

Historical places create connections to our heritage that help us understand our past, appreciate our triumphs, and learn from our mistakes. Historic places help define and distinguish our communities by building a strong sense of identity and are are treasured by local people. As a tourist you should not miss these magical places and the intriguing stories that surround them!

 

 

People riding horses on the beach

Horseback Riding

Horseback riding in the past was the only way people travelled through the countryside. It´s a very special activity because not only is it enjoyable, fun and relaxing, but you also get an up-close view of the beautiful natural surroundings.  While riding you can enjoy an abundance of flora and fauna. During a trip of a few hours you will establish a relationship with your horse and make you feel connected with nature!

Three girls soaking in natural hot springs

Hot Springs

Hot springs are formed by nature when ground water is heated by geothermal forces and brought to the surface, typically becoming diluted with cool surface water.  However, the greatest pleasure comes not from the visual aspect at the spring, but from getting into the water for its therapeutic powers, not to mention that it feels really good and rejuvenates!

Close up of green iguana

Indigenous Reserve

Group of girls dancing salsa

Latin American Dance Class

Once you get into dancing you realize what you have been missing  .. you´ll remember you have a body, you have fun, it is cheap and you can meet interesting people. The hormone dopamine will be released and activate the learning centers of you brain .. so much needed to learn Spanish! You can learn salsa, merengue, bachata, cha-cha-cha and reggaeton. ¡A bailar!

Students cutting fruits and vegetables for cooking workshop

Local Cooking Class

What is a better way to study Spanish than learning all about the food, flavors and how to prepare tasty local dishes? Let’s combine the classroom with the kitchen and not only learn Spanish words for the ingredients and commands like ¡mezcla! but also prepare gallo pinto, arroz con pollo or bananas flambé and make sure you immerse yourself in the culinary culture of Costa Rica or Panama and enjoy some delicious food!

 

Group on bikes in front of forested park setting

Mountain Bike Tour

Mountain biking will keep you fit, make you breathe fresh air, get you to visit new places and make you become one with nature. Although a lot of roads maybe a bit steeper than you are accustomed to, you will be surprised how many trails we take you that you can easily do!

Two people holding entrance tickets in front of biomuseum

Museum & Reseach Institutes

In Costa Rica & Panama a great deal of research is done in tropical agricultre, biodiversity and conservation,  so you are in the right countries to learn about these topics. Furthermore, in Panama City there is a rich variety of museums where you can learn about the Panama Canal and the AfroAntillian Culture. The Gold and Jade museums are among several that can be found in San Jose, just a day trip away from Turrialba.

 

 

River rafting along the bank of the Pejivalle River

Rafting

White Water Rafting or simply rafting, is a popular outdoor activity which makes use of an inflatable raft to navigate down a river. This sport is adventurous but not dangerous if you are under the supervision of an experienced guide. You will learn the use of safety equipment and the different skills and techniques that you will need to steer the raft properly and enjoy the ride. Rafting is a fun and exhilarating activity that you can only do in places with gradations, therefore Costa Rica & Panama are ideal places to experience the thrill of the river!

Two girls in a kayak paddling through mangroves

River & Sea Kayaking

Kayaking in rivers and oceans is for anyone looking for an opportunity to enjoy the outdoors! In addition to being fun, easy and enjoyable, kayaking is also a great low-impact workout. You can combine it with going to the beach, fishing, camping, snorkeling or having a picnic next to the river or on the beach.

Traditional boat in approaching san blas island

San Blas Indigenous – Islands Tour

Getting to San Blas is like stepping into another world for a few days! The Guna Indians still live much the same way as their ancestors. They have their comarca within Panama, which means they have an autonomous territory governed by self rule. They make sure large scale tourism is not accepted. Pristine white sand beaches lined with palm trees, turquoise waters, stunning sun sets and a gorgeous underwater world make you want to stay there forever!

 

 

Scuba diver underwater

Scuba Diving

Scuba diving will give you see a window to a fascinating world seen only by a few. The underwater world is very peaceful and quiet so you can empty your mind and just let yourself be amazed. Scuba diving is not an extreme sport and the only skills you need are being able to swim and … breathe! Due to the unique nature of this sport, a specialized course is required to participate.

Smiling sloth in a tree

Sloth Sanctuary

Sloths are originally from North America but now are only found in Central and South America. They hang onto branches while they feast on the leaves that other animals can’t reach. Walking on the ground is difficult for them, so they spend most of their time in the trees, eating and sleeping. The only times these mammals leave their tree is to use the bathroom and to take a swim (imagine .. they are excellent swimmers!!). The Sloth Sanctuary is dedicated to the rescue, rehabilitation and research of sloths.

Smiling girl in snorkel gear

Snorkeling & Deep boarding

Much simpler than scuba diving, snorkeling is something you can do without much practice and it requires only minimal equipment. Also, you don’t need to be a strong swimmer to be able to see what’s underneath the surface! Something new is deep boarding. With your mask and snorkel on, you’ll be dragged along behind a speedboat on a rope, holding onto a clear plastic semi circle. By tilting the board up or down, you go under the surface or emerge from the water to take your next breath. Just another way to enjoy the underwater world!

Surfer in the ocean at sunset

Surfing

Surfing is a highly addictive water sport and one of the most popular boardsports ever invented. There are over 20 million surfers in the world and the number is growing fast. Riding a wave is a breath taking experience that compels the surfer to forget about the daily struggles and reconnect with the present moment. The connection to the ocean and its elements, coupled with the mental, physical and often times spiritual aspects of the sport, lends itself naturally to healthy living. This, and the virtuous blend of salt, sand and sun have without a doubt a positive impact on the overall happiness of the surfer.

 

Palm tree in foreground, boats floating in caribbean sea, paradise setting

Visiting Beaches

It’s so easy to be happy on the beach: beautiful views, the feel of the hot sun on you skin, a refreshing swim, an afternoon with friends. The beach is also a great place to truly unplug from your life because electronic screens don’t work that well in the sun! Costa Rica and Panama have stunning beaches on both the Pacific and the Atlantic coasts. Some are quiet with no facilities others are a bit more busy with small places to drink or eat.

Student at peak of volcano

Volcano Visiting

A lot of us live in places where no volcanoes are found. Even though they can, at times, become active and erupt lava, we still would like to see one or even be walking on one! A volcano is active if it is erupting lava, releasing gas or generates seismic activity. A volcano is dormant if it has not erupted for a long time but could erupt again in the future. Once a volcano has been dormant for more than 10 000 years, it is termed extinct.

Students in climbing course in Boquete.

Wall Climbing

Sports that involve a bit of fear or excitement cause your body to release endorphins, dopamine and other neurotransmitters that are more powerful than lot’s of drugs! Climbing is a both a physical and mental challenge. The rock is like a puzzle that you solve through body movements and different techniques in order to reach the top. Try it and be ready to get hooked on climbing for life!

 

Group standing at the top of a large waterfall

Waterfall Tour

Few things in nature are as mesmerizing as a waterfall. The thunderous roar as water spills over cliffs and the light glistening off the spray is an example of sheer force. Costa Rica and Panama are countries where hundreds of cascading waterfalls can be found throughout the rainforest and mountainous areas. All great destinations for a day hike and a refreshing afternoon swim.

 

Volunteer holding baby monkey

Wild Animal Rescue Center

A wild animal rescue center is dedicated to rescue and rehabilitation of wild animals. Some wild animals are taken out of their natural habitat by humans in order to use them as pets or with the intention to save them. Once they are abandoned, wild animal rescue centers want to teach them and help them retain natural wild behaviors so they can be returned to their natural habitat. These centers are also great places for people to appreciate wild animals and become willing to participate in nature conservation and education.

Yoga on the balcony of Spanish by the River - Turrialba.

Yoga

Yoga is an ancient practice with origins stretching back thousands of years in India. It is designed to help achieve a more positive outlook on life and a focused, permanent sense of serenity and peace.  Yoga is a fantastic workout. It gets you in touch with your body, improves your sleep, your posture, physical and mental strength. Well, you just have to start and find out for yourself how doing yoga can change your life!

Person ziplining through moutain forest

Ziplining in the Canopy

Ziplining is quickly becoming one of the fastest growing and most thrilling adventure activities! Safely clipped in a harness, you glide from platform to platform by way of free-moving pulleys suspended on cables high above the ground. This is a unique and exhilarating experience!

 

 

Especially for students that want to travel, learn Spanish ánd visit 4 of our amazing locations!

More info ›